So fucking real

The streets always been my daddy, and momma is the county jail, I’m a soldier and I’m about my mail, and if I get busted I’m not about to tell, ’cause I’m a gaaaangsta

–Z-RO

Anyone who’s ever argued rap with me knows I stan shamelessly for The Product, whose 2006 album One Hunid has got to be one of the most criminally slept on full-lengths of all time. After a few years passed with no news of the group whatsoever, I had pretty much resigned myself to their never dropping a follow-up;  for all I knew Will Hen and Young Malice were no longer even running with Face. So imagine my surprise when I stumbled across this joint on Youtube. Now Emeritus is an album I’ve been meaning to hear, but when you still insist on purchasing music it can be easy to fall behind. So it wasn’t until the other night that I even became aware of this song’s existence.

Goddamn this is a real record. The combination of Hen, Face, and Young Mali remains as potent as ever, as all three emcees kick  street knowledge over a Tone Capone track practically weeping with emotion. Z-Ro’s hook, meanwhile, is pure poetry, his melancholy baritone gliding mournfully above the music. If you ever needed evidence of hip-hop’s ties to the blues, this song would more than suffice.

Now when can we get that new Product?

Leave a Reply

